25 April 2016 - 26 April 2016
IIASA, Laxenburg, Austria

Science Advisory Committee Meeting 2016

In the annual Science Advisory Committee Meeting, fifteen leaders of academia, and/or science to policy will visit IIASA to advise the Institute’s Governing Council and Director General.

© Rawpixelimages | Dreamstime

© Rawpixelimages | Dreamstime

The Science Advisory Committee (SAC), led by Professor Mary Scholes of Wits University, South Africa, will meet at IIASA on 25-26 April 2016. During this closed meeting, SAC will assess three existing crosscut activities of IIASA, which have now each been running for approximately 2 years. The role of the SAC members will be to provide advice to the IIASA Directorate on both the progress to date and also future prospects of each of the projects:

  1. Accounting for Social Heterogeneity in IIASA Models
  2. Equitable Governance of Common Goods
  3. Systematic Risk and Network Dynamics

Further agenda topics on the first day are presentations of the IIASA Research Plan 2016-2020 and the IIASA Highlights Report 2011-2015, followed by discussions.

On the second day SAC will examine IIASA’s new large-scale integrated projects which are outlined in IIASA’s new Research Plan 2016-2020 and form IIASA’s new Sustainability Nexus Research Cluster. SAC members will also have the opportunity to discuss the new Systems Analysis Forum exploratory projects which were launched as part of the Systems Analysis Conference in November 2015.

Members of IIASA's Science Advisory Committee

SAC was founded in 2002 by the IIASA Council – the governing body of the institute. It is composed of eminent scientists from around the world, "to ensure that IIASA's work continues to meet highest standards in both scientific merit and policy relevance." The SAC advises the Council and the Director General on the scientific strategy for IIASA to fulfill its mission and goals, with a focus on how the Institute's science program should evolve to meet emerging global challenges.

SAC members are appointed by the Council to 3-year terms, from a list of nominations solicited from IIASA’s National Member Organizations, staff, and IIASA's scientific network. Members are selected based on their scientific and policy experience in the areas of IIASA's research, with attention to balance regarding scientific disciplines, world regions, gender, and experience in global science policy activities.

The Committee meets approximately once per year, or more often if required, and the SAC Chair is invited to participate in meetings of the IIASA Council.

The SAC presently comprises 15 members from 13 different nations.

Current committee members are:

Professor Mary Scholes (Chair), University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Professor Dr. Mirjam de Bruijn, Africa Studies Centre, Netherlands

Professor Dr. Jingyun Fang, Peking University, China

Professor Nils Petter Gelditsch, Peace Research Institute Oslo, Norway

Professor Jim Hall, University of Oxford, UK

Professor Ralph L. Keeney, Duke University, USA

Professor Joon Sik Lee, Seoul National University, Korea

Dr. Jerry M. Melillo, Marine Biological Laboratory, USA

Professor Mari Elka Pangestu, University of Indonesia and Centre for Strategic and International Studies, Indonesia

Professor Fred Roberts, Rutgers University, USA

Dr. Silvia E. Giorguli Saucedo, El Colegio de México, Mexico

Professor Roberto Schaeffer, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Professor Dr. Igor Sheremet, Bauman Moscow State Technical State University, Russia

Professor Dr. Karen Helen Wiltshire, Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, Germany

Professor Tetsuzo Yasunari, Research Institute for Humanity and Nature, Japan

Print this page

Last edited: 24 March 2016

Members of IIASA's Science Advisory Committee (PDF)

Terms of Reference of IIASA’S Science Advisory Committee (PDF)

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313