ESM Structure

ESM is organized by six scientific subgroups, which are tightly integrated to carry out solution oriented integrated assessment work

Three modelling groups at the core engaged in biophysical agricultural (AES) and forestry (FEM), and impact assessment modeling (ERD). These models are supported by an Earth Observation Group (EOS) focused on producing improved EO products through remote sensing and crowd sourcing serving ESM models as well as the wider scientific community. Novel economic and integrated assessment theories and tools are first developed and tested on small scales and are incrementally mainstreamed in mostly the ERD models focusing on decision making under uncertainty (MEDU). A policy and science group interface unit (PSI) ensures professional communication on the science-policy boundary. The individual groups are described in more detail in the next section of this report.

The new ESM structure has been developed in an iterative bottom-up process with the entire ESM team since the beginning of 2013 under the leadership of the ESM management team (MGT). All groups are headed by a group leader and a deputy group leader who are closely involved in the Program’s decision making processes as well as strategic developments. Jointly developed processes have been put in place in order to focus on an integrated application of the individual models which are described in one of the next sections as ESM’s Integrated Modeling Cluster. 

Print this page

Last edited: 25 August 2015


Florian Kraxner

Deputy Program Director
PSI Group Leader

Ecosystems Services and Management

T +43(0) 2236 807 233

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313