H.E. Montek Singh Ahluwalia

Former Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission
for the Government of India


Fahad Bin Mohammed Al-Attiya

Executive Chairman of the Qatar National Food Security Programme and former Advisor to His Highness the Heir Apparent of the State of Qatar

Petr Aven

Chairman of the Supervisory Board at the Alfa Bank and former Foreign Economic Relations Minister of the Russian Federation

Peter Bakker

President and CEO of the World Business Council
for Sustainable Development, Switzerland

Ian Chubb

Chief Scientist of Australia and Professor of Biology

Jining Chen

President of Tsinghua University, China

© A. Kane

Robbert Dijkgraaf

Director and Leon Levy Professor of the Institute of Advanced Study, Princeton, USA

Franz Fischler

President of the European Forum Alpbach, former European Union Commissioner for Agriculture, Rural Development and Fisheries and former Austrian Federal Minister for Agriculture and Forestry

H.E. Tarja Halonen

Former President of Finland

Clemens Hellsberg

President of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Austria 

Vuk Jeremic

Former President of the United Nations General Assembly and President of the Center for International Relations and Sustainable Development, Serbia

Pavel Kabat

Director General and Chief Executive Officer of IIASA, member of the Leadership Council for the United Nations Sustainable Development Solutions Network and Professor of Earth System Science at Wageningen University

Pascal Lamy

Former Director General of the World Trade Organisation, former European Commissioner for Trade and Honorary President of the Notre Europe –Jacques Delors Institute, France

H.E. János Martonyi

Minister for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Hungary

Mario Molina

Nobel Laureate for Chemistry, President of Centro Mario Molina, Mexico, member of the U.S. President’s Committee of Advisors in Science and Technology and holder of the U.S. Presidential Medal of Freedom

Rajendra K. Pachauri

Chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), head of The Energy and Resources Institute and Director General of the Energy and Resources Institute, India 

H.E. Mary Robinson

President of the Mary Robinson foundation for Climate Justice. Former President of Ireland and Chair of the Institute for Human Rights and Business, United Kingdom

Jeffrey Sachs

Director of the Earth Institute, Columbia University,  Director of the United Nations Sustainable Development Solutions Network and Special Advisor to the United Nations Secretary General, Ban Ki-Moon 

Michael Sandel

Political Philosopher and Professor of Har­vard University, USA

Print this page

Last edited: 14 December 2017


Philippa Baumgartner

Communications Manager


Deputy Head

External Relations Communications and Library

T +43(0) 2236 807 319

Alpbach-Laxenburg Group Homepage

Options Article

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313