Committee Membership

The Council conducts much of its work through an Executive Committee, a Finance Committee, a Membership Committee, a Program Committee, and an Outreach, Capacity Building, and Science Engagement Committee.

Michael Clegg, Council Chair
Alexei Gvishiani, Vice Chair
Gansen Pillay, Vice Chair

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (Terms of Reference (ToR) is composed of the officers of the Council and any additional elected representatives. The Executive Committee meets at the request of the Council Chair and is authorized under specific instructions from the Council to act on its behalf to carry out established Council policies between sessions of the Council. Members currently are: 

  • Michael Clegg (Council Chair)
  • Alexei Gvishiani (Vice Chair)
  • Gansen Pillay (Vice Chair)
  • Ingrid Petersson
  • Asma Ismail
  • Helga Weisz
  • Duncan Wingham
  • Gerhard Glatzel (ex-officio as host country representative)
  • Connie McManus Pimental (rotating member for 2018)

The Finance Committee

The Finance Committee (Terms of Reference (ToR), is established as a Committee of the Council under the provisions of Section 3 of Article VII of the IIASA Charter. It is charged with the responsibility for ensuring that the Council is kept informed of all financial matters pertaining to the Institute, and supervises matters of accounting and audit, annual payments of NMOs, realizations of royalties and other revenues, and annual financial reports. Each Finance Committee member receives a quarterly financial report from the institute’s financial controller, and the Finance Committee chair meets with the institute’s external auditors to review the results of the annual audit. Members currently are: 

  • Ingrid Petersson (Chair)
  • Gerhard Glatzel (Vice Chair until June 2018)
  • Kazu Takemoto (Vice Chair from June 2018)
  • Lea Kauppi

The Membership Committee

The Membership Committee (Terms of Reference (ToR) is responsible for proposing guidelines for membership policy to be approved by the Council; defining admission procedures to be approved by the Executive Committee; actively following new membership applications to prepare for the Council decision; and reporting to the Executive Committee as necessary between sessions of the Council. Members currently are: 

  • Helga Weisz (Chair)
  • Stan Gielen (Vice Chair for 2018)
  • Kuntoro Mangkusubroto 
  • Ninh Khac Ban
  • Anatoly Zagorodny

The Program Committee

The Program Committee (Terms of Reference (ToR) was established to focus on the Council’s responsibilities with respect to IIASA research activities, overseeing approval of the IIASA Research Plan and the external review processes. These responsibilities are designed to facilitate the Council’s decision regarding the initiation and termination of research programs, review of the IIASA research progress report, and the evaluation of ongoing research programs.

The Program Committee works closely with the Science Advisory Committee (SAC) and the Director/CEO in the initiation of the five-year research programs. Members currently are:

  • Asma Ismail (Chair)
  • Kirsten Broch Mathisen (Vice Chair)
  • Moti Herskowitz
  • Enrique de Alba/Julia Taguena
  • Xincheng Xie
  • Nosratollah Zargham

Outreach, Capacity Building, and Science Engagement Committee

The Outreach, Capacity Building, and Science Engagement Committee (Terms of Reference (ToR) has been established to oversee and support IIASA capacity building and communication activities. Current members are:

  • Duncan Wingham (Chair)
  • Connie McManus Pimentel (Vice Chair)
  • Jung-Hye Roe
  • Mahmoud Sakr

Print this page

Last edited: 14 September 2018


Sanja Drinkovic

Officer for IIASA Council

Council and External Relations

Advisory Committees and NMO Relations


T +43(0) 2236 807 589

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313