IIASA, the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, and the Nobel Prize

Ten IIASA scientists who co-authored the Fourth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental on Climate Change (IPCC) were among the recipients of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize, which was bestowed jointly on the IPCC and former U.S. Vice President Al Gore “for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change.”

The collective IIASA achievement was announced on 14 November 2007 by the then IIASA Director Leen Hordijk at the opening of the IIASA Conference. The former Director spoke of his pride in the IIASA scientists who participated in the research for the Fourth Assessment Report.

The IPCC Peace Prize was presented in Oslo on 10 December 2007. R. K. Pachauri, Chairman of the IPCC, accepted the prize on behalf of the organization.  In his acceptance speech, he spoke, among other things, of “the power and promise of collective scientific endeavor, which, as demonstrated by the IPCC, can reach across national boundaries and political differences” as well as “the importance of knowledge in shaping public policy and guiding global affairs.”

Print this page

Last edited: 28 August 2013

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313