IIASA and the Nobel Prize

IIASA scientists have been awarded the Nobel Prize four times.

 © The Nobel Foundation

Nobel Peace Prize (2007) was awarded to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and Al Gore for “their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change.” Between 1990 and 2007, 23 IIASA scientists contributed to IPCC reports. More information.

Nobel Prize for Economics (2005) was awarded to Professor Thomas C. Schelling for “having enhanced our understanding of conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis.” He worked at IIASA between 1994 and 1999 and is a professor at the University of Maryland, USA. More information.

Nobel Prize for Chemistry (1995) was awarded to Professor Paul Crutzen "for his work in atmospheric chemistry, particularly concerning the formation and decomposition of ozone." He has had a long-standing affiliation with IIASA, starting in the 1980s. More information.

Nobel Prize in Economics (1975) was awarded to Professor Tjalling Koopmans and Professor Leonid Kantorovich "for their contributions to the theory of optimum allocation of resources." The economists both worked at IIASA during the 1970s. More information

Print this page

Last edited: 28 January 2014

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313